Dec. 17, 2004
Twelve months after they began the program, the first class of students to complete the practical nursing program at HACC's Lancaster Campus marked their graduation today.

Most of the 22 Graduate Practical Nurses (GPNs) now will begin jobs in local long-term care facilities, doctor's offices and some acute care facilities, and a few will continue their studies to become registered nurses. Each of the GPNs has up to one year in which to complete the licensing exam. Once they pass the exam, they become Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs).

There is a shortage of nurses in all areas of the country. We are trying to keep up with the demand by training nurses for our local communities, explained Larry Fanus, assistant professor of nursing, adding that the college will accept 40 students in the next program beginning in January. "Our students are local and will stay locally to work, which is what makes this program so wonderful for our community college."

Four students were recognized with awards. Linda J. Ammay received the ManorCare Lancaster Award for Leadership for her leadership qualities in clinical practice. Ellen M. Liberto was awarded the Quarryville Presbyterian Retirement Community Award for Clinical Excellence for her skills in interpersonal communication, assessment, documentation and technical skills. Michelle Joy Kurtz was awarded the Landis Homes Retirement Community Award for Compassionate Nursing Care for demonstrating outstanding care to patients and families. Christi L. Owen received the Willow Valley Retirement Community Award for Excellence in Gerontological Nursing for excellent care of elderly patients and their families.

Graduating today were:


Wernersville - Michelle L. Walpen.


Elverson - Barbara A. Canale.


Middletown - Michael B. Dieffenbach.


Columbia - Heidi J. Roth.

Ephrata - Rachelle K. Reinford, Glen E. Stull.

Lancaster - Linda J. Ammay, Megan L. Chism, Kristy M. Houston, Ellen Liberto.

Lititz - Loi V. Nguyen, Christi L. Owen.

Manheim - Angelina A. Fegley.

Marietta - Georgia A. Goshea.

Narvon - Michelle J. Kurtz.

Pequea - Mickey L. Sourbeer.


Annville - Diane L. Scheer.

Lebanon - Betsy Koser.


Dover - Danielle L. Sanders.

Seven Valleys - April J. Snyder.

York - Michelle L. Thoman, Jacintha M. Weinstein.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.