Dec. 17, 2010
HARRISBURG – Eighteen cadets of the 11th part-time Police Academy recently graduated from the Senator John J. Shumaker Public Safety Center (PSC) of HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College.
Several of the cadets also received outstanding achievement awards in a ceremony held in the Rose Lehrman Arts Center theatre on the Harrisburg Campus.
  • Justin R. Barder of Enola received the highest proficiency in driving award from the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association.
  • Michael S. Storeman of York received the high achievement in physical fitness award.
  • Robert J. Burig of the Lewistown Borough Police Department received the highest proficiency in firearms award.
  • Shawn A. Wilson of Dallastown received the most inspirational cadet award.
  • Robert D. Hilbert of Palmyra received the highest academic achievement award.
HACC’s Police Academy, the second largest academy in the state, offers the basic training course mandated for all Pennsylvania municipal police officers. The part-time academy can accommodate working students and can be completed in less than a year. The full-time academy lasts 20 weeks.
HACC also offers police mandatory in-service courses, law enforcement elective training, security courses, constable training and police testing. Information on HACC’s Police Academy can be found on the college’s website at
Those who completed HACC’s most recent police training are:
Lewistown Borough Police Department – Robert J. Burig.
Northern Lebanon Township Police Department – Robert D. Hilbert, Jr.
The rest of the academy graduates are not yet affiliated with a police department:
Dallastown – Shawn A. Wilson.
Dillsburg – Cuong La.
Duncannon – Shane C. McMillan.
Elizabethtown – Michael S. Farnish.
Fredericksburg – Chad R. Showers.
Enola – Justin R. Barder.
Gettysburg – James M. Dunkes.
Harrisburg – David S. Nardis.
Lebanon – Kenneth R. Brown, Jr.
Lititz – Quentin R. Lapp.
Manheim – Ryan M. Gehman, Scott P. Siegrist.
Mechanicsburg – Stanley A. Strumsky.
Middletown – Kevin P. Martin
Willow Street –Holly E. Jackson.
York – Micahel S. Storeman.
Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.