Business, industry and community leaders to give input on future offerings
Sept. 20, 2010
CHAMBERSBURG – Leaders from business, industry and the community have been named to an inaugural advisory committee to give input on how HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College, can better serve the region.
The committee was assembled to help the college determine what programs to in Franklin County.
Mechatronics, technology studies, heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC), as well as general studies are among the HACC courses offered at the Franklin County Career and Technical Center. Students can earn HACC credits toward diplomas, certificates or associate degrees.
“We are looking to the advisory committee to help HACC fulfill its mission of providing an affordable, accessible education that will translate into family-sustaining jobs for successful graduates,” said Jennifer Weaver, campus vice president of HACC-Gettysburg Campus which oversees programs in Franklin County.
"HACC initially established the mechatronics program in Franklin County at the request of our industry partners,” said Evelyn Weaver, Franklin County coordinator. “We think there is great opportunity for continued growth and expansion of our educational programming in Franklin County to provide skilled technical workers for industry. We look forward to the input from our Advisory Committee,” Weaver said.
Committee members include Mike Anspach, manufacturing manager at TB Woods Inc.; Karen Carmack, human resources manager at F&M Trust; Derrick Donnell, administrator at Pennsylvania CareerLink, Franklin County; James Duffey, superintendent of the Fannett-Metal School District; Tim Lachemann, human resources manager at D.L. Martin Co.; Dave Landis, systems engineer at Target Distribution; Joseph Padasak, superintendent of the Chambersburg Area School District; Joel Peterson, electronics mechanics supervisor at  Letterkenny Army Depot; David Reese, training coordinator at Volvo Construction Equipment; L. Michael Ross, president of the Franklin County Area Development Corp.; David G. Sciamanna, president of the Greater Chambersburg Chamber of Commerce; Sandra Traynor, workforce development coordinator at Chambersburg Area High School; Sunny Weicht, maintenance manager at JLG Industries Inc.; and Robert Ziobrowski, Franklin County commissioner.
For more information, contact Evelyn Weaver at 385-2821, or e-mail at
Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.