Click on image to go to caption and high resolution photo (passcode needed)
Aug. 21, 2008
GETTYSBURG – Six faculty members at the Gettysburg Campus of HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College, have been recognized for their outstanding achievements or service to education.
            Linda O’Connor, associate professor mathematics, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Omega Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, a professional honor society of women educators. The award recognizes and honors a member who has given outstanding service to a local chapter and has promoted the purposes and policies of the society. 
              O’Connor has been a member of the local Omega Chapter for 21 years and is currently the state treasurer for Delta Kappa Gamma. O’Connor’s award is the first Omega chapter achievement award given by the local chapter, which is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. O’Connor is assistant chair of the HACC-Gettysburg Campus math department and has been recognized nationally and internationally for excellence in teaching.
             David Bailey, instructor psychology, received the Paragon Award 2008 for the Phi Theta Kappa Society Middle States Region. Bailey is faculty adviser for the HACC-Gettysburg Campus Alpha Nu Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society for community college students. The award was given “in recognition of your outstanding efforts contributing to the growth of your chapter, as well as your support of local, regional and international programs within Phi Theta Kappa.”
            Bailey teaches in the HACC Honors Program and encourages honors scholars to become involved in campus, college and community service opportunities. Under his guidance, students have participated in programs to support initiatives such as Operation Green: Improving Our Communities, Keep America Beautiful and Better World Books program.
            Ruth Negley, assistant professor biology, received the Edward P. Dolbey Award, given annually by the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science-Pennsylvania (ASCLS-PA) to an outstanding clinical laboratory science professional in Pennsylvania. In past years Negley has received the ASCLS-PA Key to the Future Award and the Keener Service Award, has chaired student review sessions and the 2007 annual spring meeting, and is a past president of the organization.
            Negley also received the Faculty Enhancement Program Travel Award, presented annually by the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) to faculty members who are committed to teaching undergraduate microbiology and biology.
            Jason Rosenberry, assistant professor mathematics, received the Martha J. Stauffer Mathematics Award, given annually to a HACC mathematics faculty member who demonstrates an outstanding record of achievement in the teaching of mathematics.
            Cristal Renzo, instructor English, received a National Endowment for the Humanities grant. This travel award is presented to an outstanding community college faculty member to attend the Community College Humanities Association workshop entitled “Concord Massachusetts: Transcendentalism and Social Action in the 19th Century.”
            Bob Klokis, instructor mathematics, received the HACC Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award, given to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching through creativity, flexibility and clarity in instructional practices, and through continued growth as a teacher and valued member of the college community. 
Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.