May 3, 2007
Scholarship winners, graduates and outstanding students were recognized at the annual Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony held recently at HACC-Gettysburg Campus. Assistant Dean of Student Services Katherine Kough gave a welcome to the students, families, and scholarship donors in attendance and congratulated students on their accomplishments.

Michael McCloskey of Millersville and Jennifer O'Tanger of New Oxford were named to the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team and nominated to the All-USA Academic Team. McCloskey, a December 2006 HACC graduate, also received an Academic Passport scholarship for tuition at any of the fourteen universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. He is now a student at Millersville University.

Jennifer Buckley of Gettysburg was named the Outstanding Transfer Program Graduate and Carl Coulson of York Springs was the Outstanding Career Program Graduate. Their names will join those of previous outstanding graduates on a recognition plaque in the campus lobby.

Four students in the Registered Nursing program at HACC-Gettysburg Campus received scholarship awards. The Gettysburg Hospital Faith Redding Memorial Scholarship went to Elizabeth Fetter of Orrtanna. David Johnson, Hanover, received the Tom and Juene McGlaughlin Nursing Scholarship, and Sarah Coleman, Gettysburg, received the Esther G. Little Nursing Award. The Twila Charles Memorial Scholarship went to Carrie Bosley, York New Salem. Practical nursing student Susan Rohrer, Littlestown, received the Margaret Trew Cline Foundation Practical Nursing Award.

The Gettysburg High School Class of 1950 Scholarship, established in honor of class advisors Mrs. Ruth Mundis McClelland and the late Colonel Jacob Sheads, was presented by Colonel Alex Kessel to Shannon Congleton, Andrew Haun and Kimberly Hernandez, all residents of Gettysburg. Gettysburg Subway, which provides food service at the HACC campus, awarded the Gettysburg Subway Scholarship to David Williams of Gettysburg.

The Bernard A. Yannetti, Sr. Memorial Scholarship was presented to criminal justice major Sherry Jensen of East Berlin; Bernie Yannetti, Jr. recognized Gettysburg American Legion Post 202 for their contribution to the scholarship fund. The South Western Academic Award, designated for students in the South Western or other non-sponsoring school district, was presented to Joy Crites, Hanover.

There were three Valerie D. Allen Memorial Scholarship recipients for 2007, made possible through a gift to the scholarship fund from an anonymous donor; recipients were Shonna Anderson of Hanover, Bernadette Munson of York Springs, and Amy Stoltzfus of East Berlin.

Jessica Sommers, Littlestown, received the VFW Post 15 Scholarship, designated for a military veteran or the child or grandchild of a veteran; VFW representatives recognized the Green Acres Civility Team for their fund-raising efforts on behalf of the scholarship fund. Chadwick Brotemarkle, New Oxford, received the HACC Classified Employee Organization Outstanding Student Worker Award.

Fourteen HACC students achieved Gettysburg Campus Academic Excellence Awards with grade-point averages of 4.0. Thirty-six students were congratulated for their induction into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during the fall 2006 and spring 2007 semesters.

Also recognized were Student Government Association club advisors and officers, candidates for graduation in May or August 2007, and graduates from December 2006. Students recognized during the ceremony received a Gettysburg Campus achievement pin and certificate.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.