Dec. 19, 2007
HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College, recently celebrated the graduation of 42 cadets from its 92nd Police Academy - one of the largest classes in the history of the academy.

In a ceremony held at Dauphin County Technical School, recruits also received outstanding achievement awards.

  • Nathan W. Ishman of the Harrisburg Bureau of Police received the highest proficiency in driving award from the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association.
  • Kenneth R. Thorp of the Ephrata Borough Police Department received the highest proficiency in firearms award.
  • Gary L. Gearhart of the Borough of Littlestown Police Department received the highest proficiency in physical fitness award.

  • Bruce T. Quinan of the North Hopewell Township Police Department received the most inspirational class member award.
  • Duane D. Pyles of the Harrisburg Bureau of Police received the Highest Academic Achievement Award.

HACC's Police Academy, the second largest academy in the state, offers the 20-week basic training course mandated for all Pennsylvania municipal police officers.

Those who completed HACC's most recent police training and the police departments where they serve are as follows:

City of Lebanon Police Department - Enoc A. Ayala.

Ephrata Borough Police Department - John B. Garver, Kenneth R. Thorp.

Harrisburg Bureau of Police - Jared S. Huff, Hudson R. Hughes II, Nathan W. Ishman, Gina M. Pupo, Duane D. Pyles, Michael J. Rudy.

Highspire Borough Police Department - Rebecca A. Kuykendall, Justin P. Shutt.

Borough of Littlestown Police Department - Gary L. Gearhart.

Manheim Township Police Department - Nicholas A. Fritz, Cody J. Lewis, Anthony T. Lombardo.

Mechanicsburg Borough Police Department - Timothy P. Lazzarevich.

Mifflin County Regional Police Department - Jared M. Hartsock.

North Hopewell Township Police Department - Bruce T. Quinan.

Springettsbury Township Police Department - Ryan W. Thomas.

Susquehanna Township Police Department - Lee A. Tarasi.

Swatara Township Police Department - Timothy M. Kramer Jr., Christopher M. Seiler.

Upper Allen Township Police Department - Trenton R. Mellott.

York Area Regional Police Department - Jason S. Dibble.

York City Police Department - Jeremy A. Fultz, Jonathan A. Hatterer, Brian N. Kirby.

Preservice graduates not yet associated with law enforcement agencies include the following:

Camp Hill - Matthew M. Johnston.

Campbelltown - Autumn R. Darhower.

Elizabethtown - Matthew F. Corby, Randy M. Wagner.

Enola - Charles I. Purtle.

Harrisburg - Justin T. Doyle.

Hershey - Ryan M. Kelly.

Hummelstown - Bradley R. Polinski.

Huntingdon - Justin M. Franks.

Lancaster - Joshua J. Bucher.

Millersburg - Christopher R. Butler.

York - Michael A. Cavanaugh, Jonathan W. Fisher, Scott A. Musselman.

York Haven - Ovidio Traverso Jr.

HACC's Senator John J. Shumaker Public Safety Center is one of the premier providers of on- and off-site police, fire and emergency response training.

The HACC Police Academy is a full-time course of instruction designed to provide the recruit with the initial skills and information necessary to begin his/her police career.

HACC also offers police mandatory in-service courses, law enforcement elective training, security courses, constable training and police testing. Information on HACC's Police Academy may be obtained by clicking on the website below.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.