Jan. 8, 2007
HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College, recently celebrated the graduation of 34 cadets from its 90th Police Academy.

In a ceremony held at Dauphin County Technical School, recruits also received outstanding achievement awards.

Michael W. Bowen, of the York City Police Department, received the Highest Proficiency in Physical Fitness award.

Anthony E. Tereska, of the York City Police Department, received the Highest Proficiency in Firearms award.

Justin C. Hobbs, of the West Manchester Township Police Department, received the Highest Academic Achievement award.

Samuel T. Jones, of the Chambersburg Police Department, received the Most Inspirational Class Member award.

Richard M. Grove, Jr., of Mechanicsburg, received the Highest Proficiency in Driving award from the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association.

HACC Police Academy, the second largest academy in the state, offers the 20-week basic training course mandated for all Pennsylvania municipal police officers.

Those who completed HACC's police training and the police departments where they serve are as follows:

Chambersburg Police Department - Samuel T. Jones.

City of Lebanon Police Department - Eric J. Sims.

East Hempfield Township Police Department - Matthew G. Spitler.

East Lampeter Township Police Department - Heather L. Waltman.

Lower Allen Township Police Department - Briana J. Stevenson.

Lower Paxton Township Police Department - Gregory B. Langley, Steven D. Wertz.

Lykens Borough Police Department - Robert J. Yost.

McSherrystown Police Department - Chad D. Sprankle.

Manheim Township Police Department - Steven T. Newman.

Penn Township Police Department (York County) - Travis C. Shearer, Brian T. Smith.

Steelton Police Department - Arthur G. Etnoyer

Swatara Township Police - James K. Moyer, Ashley A. Wilt.

Upper Allen Township Police Department - Gregory S. Schick.

West Manchester Township Police Department - Justin C. Hobbs.

Williamstown Bureau of Police - Jarrod J. Scandle.

York City Police Department - Michael W. Bowen, Bradley J. Cleck, Michael W. Reinert, Anthony E. Tereska.

Preservice graduates not yet associated with law enforcement agencies included the following:

Annville - Mark A. Sallada.

Harrisburg - David M. McCahan, Jr, Marc D. Moule, Patrick M. Roche.

Mechanicsburg - Richard M. Grove, Jr., Scott T. Johnsen, Brandon W. Jones, Christopher S. Mason.

Myerstown - Angel R. Ludwig.

New Cumberland - Andrew S. Frey.

Tower City - Ryan R. Leach.

Wrightsville - Shannon J. Hilliard.

HACC's Senator John J. Shumaker Public Safety Center is one of the premier providers of on- and off-site police, fire and emergency response training. The HACC Police Academy is a full-time course of instruction designed to provide the recruit with the initial skills and information necessary to begin his/her police career.

HACC also offers police mandatory in-service courses, law enforcement elective training, security courses, constable training and police testing. Information on HACC's Police Academy may be obtained by accessing the college website at www.hacc.edu.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.