May 12, 2006
HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College, today honors the accomplishments of 100 students who are graduating from the nursing program at the Harrisburg Campus.

The pinning ceremony, marking the students' completion of HACC's nursing program, took place this evening at 6 p.m. in the Cooper Student Center at the Harrisburg Campus.

Several students received special recognition at the ceremony. Both Anna Johnson, of Hummelstown and Ildiko Stegman, of Swatara, won the Adele S. Birx Award for outstanding achievement in nursing practice. Kimberlee J. Bardo, of Harrisburg, received the James P. and Linda M. Lupia Award for Leadership for her superior leadership qualities in the clinical practice of nursing. Liya Arustamyan, of Camp Hill, garnered the Dauphin County Medical Society Award for Clinical Excellence, for her communication, assessment, documentation and technical skills.

Andrea T. Abruzzo, of Hershey, took the Spirit of Nursing Award-U.S. Army, exemplifying the spirit of nursing through community and professional involvement, leadership and academic excellence. Carolyn Marnie, of Mechanicsburg, and Vicki J. Santiago, of Camp Hill, both received the Nursing Faculty Awards for Exemplary Nursing Practice, each exemplifying professionalism in the classroom and clinical areas and Tracey M. Fustine, of Mechanicsburg, won the District 15 Award from the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association for patient advocacy, professionalism and effective communication skills.

HACC's nursing program is approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing and accredited by the National League for Nursing Accreditation Commission. Graduates, who hold associate degrees in nursing, sit for their state licensure exam to become registered nurses--RNs. HACC's pass rate for the exam is between 97 and 100%.

With nurses in high demand, most graduates have jobs waiting for them after completing the HACC nursing program. Most stay within a 25-mile radius of the HACC campus they attended, thus enhancing the quality of health care in the area.

Students earning their pin as graduate nurses include:

Boiling Springs - Amanda B. Doyle.

Camp Hill - Liya Arustamyan, Loretta Lochman, Stacy L. Marciano, Emilia K. Niba, Vicki J. Santiago, Kelly C. Smith.

Carlisle - Larissa A. Eakin, Elizabeth K. Jones, Kerri A. Wolverton.

Enola - Julia M. Kuzar, Patricia A. Watson.

Lemoyne - Alicia K. Harris.

Mechanicsburg - Rashmi Agarwal, Jessica Brubaker, Susan A Frazier, Tracey M. Fustine, Stacey B. Harrison, Lorie A.Lamason, Carolyn Marnie, Penny J. Moore, Sandra J. Morgan, Mai T. Nguyen, Emmalee M. O'Connor, Carol A. Reeser, Amy J. Reisinger.

New Cumberland - Kim J. Riley, Vicki L Tomkinson.

Shippensburg - Shawn M. Carr, Jolene M. John, Christine R. Starliper.

Halifax - Lanelle L. Casner, Nicole L. Holberg, Mary G. Seidel, Bryan P. Weems.

Harrisburg - Angela M. Anderson, Nichole K. Baer, Kimberlee J. Bardo, Elizabeth M. Bentz, Julia C. Bentz, Sarah E. Brennan, Rachel A. Bressler, Philip A Buckman, Johnathan Clevinger, Brenda D. Mayberry, Erin C. Murdoch, Aleesha B. Penica, Cari A Santopietro, Elenita M. Sioco, Jaime A. Steinkamp, Kellie R. Zema, Amanda L. Zimmerman.

Hershey - Andrea T. Abruzzo, Robert B. Hill, Jodi L. McGreen.

Highspire - Jody A. Beck.

Hummelstown - Sandra L. Adams, Kristen N. Farling, Beth A. Holey, Kevin M. Hunsicker, Anna L. Johnson, Melissa L. Vaughan.

Middletown - Kelly M. Bauman, Meghan A. Gardecki, Jennifer M. Souders, Diane B. Tillotson.

Millersburg - Janelle L. Teter.

Steelton - Mark L. Croman.

Swatara - Ildiko Stegman.

Chambersburg - Erin B. Plummer.

Mifflin - Beth A. Bryan.

Port Royal - Melissa L. Coldren.

Richfield - Dawn D. Willow.

Elizabethtown - Gail L. Holbrook, Jeanne Pickett.

Cleona - Stacy L. White.

Jonestown - Rebecca A Neuin, Susan E. Puckhaber.

Lebanon - Edward L. Harmon, Jamie R. Moyer, Ann L. Rudegeair.

Lewistown - Christina A Dillon, Kelli J. Sheetz.

Duncannon - Michelle K. Davis, Robert L. Stone

Elliottsburg - Tangina R. Zeak.

Millerstown - Elizabeth M. Butt.

Mt. Pleasant Mills - Melanie D. Minium.

Brogue - Asheley M. Manuel.

Dillsburg - Danielle M. Haines, Angelique R. Sundell.

Etters - Michelle A. Hartsock, Ann M. Potter, Lisa M. Yoder.

Hanover - Alicia C. Talley.

Wellsville - Denise E. Hawkins, Lori A. Weller.

York - Marlena A. Boring.

York Haven - Scott A. Linebaugh.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.