Nov. 22, 2005
HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College, recently celebrated the graduation of 39 cadets from its 88th Police Academy.

In a ceremony held at Dauphin County Technical School, recruits also received outstanding achievement awards.

Katrina M. Fiala, of the Swatara Township Police Department, received the Highest Proficiency in Physical Fitness award.

Robert E. Bennett, of the Derry Township Police Department, received the Highest Proficiency in Firearms award and the Highest Academic Achievement award.

Jonathan D. Burnham, of York Haven, received the Most Inspirational Class Member award.

Eric F. Morris, of the Swatara Township Police Department, received the Highest Proficiency in Driving award.

HACC Police Academy, the second largest academy in the state, offers the 20-week basic training course mandated for all Pennsylvania municipal police officers.

Those who completed HACC's police training and the police departments where they serve are as follows:

Carlisle Police Department-Scott R. Novak.

City of Lebanon Police Department-Ryan E. Margut.

Derry Township Police Department-Robert E. Bennett, David E. Rode.

East Lampeter Township Police Department-Matthew E. Hess, Jordan W. Miller.

Ephrata Borough Police Department- Sean B. O'Hanlon.

Harrisburg City Bureau of Police-Todd M. Arnold, Antwyn T. Chatman, Kyle A. Gautsch, Kurt S. Salak, Erik C. Tack, Justin R. Wells, Russell Winder, Jr.

Lower Allen Township Police Department-Katie A. Justh.

Lower Paxton Township Police Department- Nathan A. Larsen.

Middletown Police Department-Peter A. Fure.

Mifflin County Regional Police Department- Brian M. Hoffman, Trey R. McCloskey.

Swatara Township Police Department- Katrina M. Fiala, Jason P. Lex, Eric F. Morris, Ryan T. Williamson.

Waynesboro Police Department-Derek M. Lange.

York Area Regional Police Department-Andy B. Mallette, Michael J. Schiffhauer, Laura T. Wilson.

Preservice graduates not yet associated with law enforcement agencies included the following:

Airville-Michael G. Jordan.

Etters-Michael J. Scarlato.

Mechanicsburg-Stephen M. Grunden.

Mifflinburg-Matthew L. Lauver.

Mill Hall-Richard J. Regel.

Laureldale-Ryan M. Swartz.

Lebanon-Stephen J. Gross, Christopher A. Miller, Eugene Spencer.

Shermans Dale-Elias A. Martinez.

Tower City-Michael D. Reibsane.

York Haven-Jonathan D. Burnham.

HACC's Senator John J. Shumaker Public Safety Center is one of the premier providers of on- and off-site police, fire and emergency response training.

The HACC Police Academy is a full-time course of instruction designed to provide the recruit with the initial skills and information necessary to begin his/her police career..

The course of instruction consists of all major phases of police service and includes a significant component of "situational" training..

HACC also offers police mandatory in-service courses, law enforcement elective training, security courses, constable training and police testing. Information on HACC's Police Academy may be obtained by accessing the college website at

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.