May 14, 2004
Scholarship winners, graduates and outstanding students received recognition and awards during the annual Student Celebration at the Gettysburg Campus of Harrisburg Area Community College (HACC). A standing-room-only crowd of nearly 200 students, family, friends and community donors gathered at the end of the semester to recognize the outstanding achievements of the HACC students.

"This year's list of award recipients has sky-rocketed due to a larger student body, an expanded number of scholarships, and more students receiving academic and service awards," observed Gettysburg Campus dean, Jennifer Weaver in her welcome to students, family and guests.

Michelle Durange, president of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society, and Robyn Wolfe, president of the Student Advisory Council, were announced as recipients of the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team for Community Colleges Scholarship, and nominees for the All-USA Academic Team. The scholarship allows them the choice of transferring, with a full scholarship, to any of the 14 universities in the State System of Higher Education. Both Durange and Wolfe will transfer to Shippensburg University.

Wolfe was also named the Outstanding Transfer Program Graduate, and Rosalie Diehl was the Outstanding Career Program Graduate. Their names will join those of previous outstanding graduates on an engraved plaque in the campus lobby.

Michelle Slaybaugh received the Valerie D. Allen memorial scholarship. Valerie Allen, an honor student at the Gettysburg Campus, died in a car accident in 1999. The scholarship is presented annually to the student at Gettysburg Campus HACC who best exemplifies Valerie's attributes as an "intelligent, hard-working, conscientious student, successfully handling family, job and college with limited resources."

Six students in the RN nursing program at Gettysburg Campus received scholarship awards. Jane Oyler, RN, Director of Surgical Services at Gettysburg Hospital, presented two awards on behalf of the Gettysburg Hospital Foundation: the Gettysburg Hospital Medical Staff Scholarship to Shawna Ford, and the Gettysburg Hospital Nursing Endowment Scholarship to John Price. Kristin Rice, vice president of the Adams County Bar Association, presented the Adams County Bar Association Scholarship to Deborah Collins. Mr. Robert Charles and Dr. Arlene Bobonich presented the first annual Twila Charles Memorial Sholarship to Callie Fenby. Michelle Koser received the Tom and Juene McGlaughlin Nursing Scholarship, and Heather Howell received the Esther G. Little Nursing Scholarship.

The Gettysburg High School Class of 1950 Scholarship, established in honor of class advisors Mrs. Ruth Mundis McClelland and the late Colonel Jacob Sheads, was presented by Alex Kessel, Class of 1950, to Steve Zentz and Amanda Woodward. Luke Rider received the 2004-2005 Maurice C. Overholt Alumni Association Scholarship. Gettysburg Subway, which provides food service at the HACC campus, awarded the Gettysburg Subway Scholarship to Denise Malanka. The UPS Scholarship went to Bethany Kline. Christopher Groft received the HACC Classified Employee Organization Outstanding Student Worker Award.

Nineteen students achieved Gettysburg Campus Academic Excellence Awards with grade averages of 4.0. Twenty students were congratulated for their induction into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during the fall 2003 and spring 2004 semesters.

Joel Downin, Cecilia Gilbert, Harry Griffith, Lorna Nye and Gail Wherley received congratulations as members of the first group of students to receive associate degrees from the Gettysburg Campus under the Trade Act training program for displaced workers. Also recognized were additional scholarship recipients, dean's list students, Student Advisory Council officers and senators, student assistants, club officers and advisors. Candidates for graduation in May and August 2004 were introduced, along with graduates of December 2003.

All students recognized during the ceremony received a Gettysburg Campus achievement pin and certificate. The Student Celebration also featured "Reflections" from Assistant Professor of English Joan West and students in her Spring 2004 literature class, who read excerpts from their original modern poetry. West's students also presented her with flowers, a plaque, and a scrapbook of memories in recognition of her upcoming retirement from HACC.

Please click the links below to share the latest #HACCnews on YOUR social media sites.